Products>The Works of Jonathan Edwards, Volume 2

The Works of Jonathan Edwards, Volume 2

Format: Digital


Jonathan Edwards, known for his theological elegance, fiery rhetoric, and revivalist preaching, was esteemed by pastoral and theological colleagues in his own time and is now—nearly three centuries later—widely regarded as America’s greatest theologian. The Atlantic has included him in their list of the 100 most influential Americans, and William Wainwright has called him America’s most important and original philosophical theologian. As a revivalist preacher, seminary president, missionary, and astute theologian, Jonathan Edwards has profoundly impacted the history of Christianity in America. Edwards sought to reconcile the dominant theological emphases of Calvinism—such as God’s sovereignty and human depravity—with tangible expressions of the Spirit’s presence in the lives of individuals. This theological nuance, expressed in his impassioned sermons and fiery rhetoric, helped launch the First Great Awakening, along with the tradition of revivalist preaching that has helped define and shape American evangelicalism ever since. Logos is pleased to offer, for the first time, The Works of Jonathan Edwards in two volumes—the same two-volume set that underlies both the Hendricksen and Banner of Truth editions. In addition to nearly fifty sermons and dozens of theological treatises, these volumes also contain Edwards’ memoirs, his discussion of revivals in New England, and his comprehensive history of redemption. This collection also includes the three works for which Edwards is most famous: A Treatise Concerning Religious Affections, The Life of David Brainerd, and his sermon, “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God”. What’s more, with the Logos edition, the writings and sermons in this vast corpus of Edwards’ works are quickly accessible and easy to use. Now, the text of famous sermons—such as “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God”—and his most famous quotations are not only completely searchable, they are also compatible with the rest of your Logos library. Reading, studying, and enjoying the works of Jonathan Edwards has never been easier!

  • Title: The Works of Jonathan Edwards, Volume 2
  • Author: Edwards, Jonathan
  • Publisher: Banner of Truth Trust
  • Publication Date: 1974