Faithlife Corporation

Business Hours

Monday – Saturday
6 AM – 6 PM PST
Local: 1:40 PM
The Parables: Understanding the Stories Jesus Told
See inside
This image is for illustration only. The product is a download.

The Parables: Understanding the Stories Jesus Told


Baker 2002

Runs on Windows, Mac and mobile.


The Parables is a clearly written introduction to the parables of Jesus. After introducing the various forms of parables found in the Synoptic Gospels and the principles of interpretation, Simon Kistemaker examines the parables individually, including the entire text of each parable, followed by his commentary. Kistemaker gives careful attention to the historical and cultural setting of each story, offering practical insight into Jesus’ words and their implications for the Christian life.

Studying Kistemaker’s work with Logos streamlines and enhances your experience. Scripture citations link directly to English translations, and important terms link to dictionaries, encyclopedias, and a wealth of other resources in your digital library. Bolster your study of these works by cross-referencing and comparing with an extensive library of Reformed scholarship. Take your study with you using tablet and mobile apps. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive research tools are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

Key Features

  • Presents an in-depth study of the parables of Jesus
  • Discusses the interpretation and composition of parables in Scripture
  • Features extensive endnotes and a bibliography for further studies

Product Details

About Simon J. Kistemaker

Simon J. Kistemaker is professor emeritus of New Testament at Reformed Theological Seminary in Orlando, Florida. Born in the Netherlands, he studied at Calvin College, and Calvin Theological Seminary before earning his ThD at the Free University in Amsterdam. He was president of the Evangelical Theological Society in 1976, and has written a number of books, including several volumes in the Baker New Testament Commentary series, begun by William Hendriksen. Kistemaker won the Gold Medallion Evangelical Book of the Year Award for four of his volumes in this series.

More details about this resource