Logos Bible Software
Sign In
Products>The Works of the Rev. Isaac Watts, D. D. in Nine Volumes, vol. 9

The Works of the Rev. Isaac Watts, D. D. in Nine Volumes, vol. 9

Digital Logos Edition

Logos Editions are fully connected to your library and Bible study tools.


Digital list price: $16.49
Save $4.00 (24%)


This volume contains essays, poems, and songs by Isaac Watts. Known as the “Father of English Hymnody,” Isaac Watts is one of England’s most influential hymnists. Credited with over 500 hymns—including “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross” and “Joy to the World”—he left behind a massive legacy. He paved the way to the inclusion of “original songs of Christian experience” in worship. His introduction of extrabiblical poetry opened doors to new forms of worship in the Protestant Church.

With Logos Bible Software, this valuable volume is enhanced by cutting-edge research tools. Scripture citations link directly to English translations, and important terms link to dictionaries, encyclopedias, and a wealth of other resources in your digital library. Powerful searches help you find exactly what you’re looking for. Tablet and mobile apps let you take the discussion with you. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive research tools are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

Resource Experts
  • Contains essays, poems, and songs by Isaac Watts
  • Offers songs and hymns both for adults and children
  • Includes a table of Scriptures explained and illustrated
  • A Short Essay
  • Preface
  • Advertisement to the Readers
  • The Psalms of David
  • Hymns and Spiritual Songs
  • Divine Songs
  • A Slight Specimen of Moral Songs
  • Lyric Poems
  • Reliquiæ Juveniles
  • Remnants of Time
  • A Table of Such Scriptures as Are Explained and Illustrated in These Works
  • Title: The Works of the Rev. Isaac Watts, D. D. in Nine Volumes, vol. 9
  • Author: Isaac Watts
  • Publisher: William Baynes
  • Publication Date: 1813
  • Pages: 562
Isaac Watts

Isaac Watts (1674–1748) was an English hymn writer and theologian. Recognized as the “Father of English Hymnody,” he is credited with authoring more than 500 hymns, including “Joy to the World” and “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross.” Many of his hymns are still relevant today and have been translated into many languages.


Even as a child, Watts was a skillful poet and began writing poems and hymns to please his mother. He studied at the nonconformist academy at Stoke Newington, and after graduation began writing hymns. The Psalms and Hymns of Isaac Watts contains many of Watts’ hymns. Watts also wrote books, essays, and speeches—many of which can be found in The Works of Isaac Watts (14 vols.).


0 ratings

Sign in with your Faithlife account


    Digital list price: $16.49
    Save $4.00 (24%)