Faithlife Corporation

Business Hours

Monday – Saturday
6 AM – 6 PM PDT
Local: 1:10 PM
Works of Martin Luther with Introductions and Notes, Volume II

Works of Martin Luther with Introductions and Notes, Volume II

Martin Luther

| A. J. Holman & Co. | 1916

Buy It


The second volume contains treatises in which Luther discusses the Lord’s Supper and the immoral lifestyle of the brotherhood, a review of the policy regarding the excommunication of a member from the church, Christian liberty, and the various sacraments. Also included in volume two are the eight sermons Luther preached at Wittenberg during Lent, in which he addresses those he deemed fanatics. It concludes with Luther’s arguments against accepting the doctrines of men, encouraging Christians to embrace the authority of scripture.

Author Bio

Martin Luther (1483–1546), one of the most significant figures in Western history, was a key figure in the Protestant Reformation. Over the course of his life, Luther was a monk, a priest, a professor of biblical literature, a Reformer, a husband, and a father.

Luther is most noted for his Ninety-Five Theses (1517), in which he argued that indulgences were not acts of penance which could replace true repentance. His refusal to retract all his writings, demanded by Pope Leo X in 1520 and the Holy Roman Emperor Charles V at the Diet of Worms in 1521, resulted in his excommunication by the pope and condemnation as an outlaw by the emperor.

Luther has been both praised and vilified for what he preached and wrote. Luther’s translation of the Christian Bible into the vernacular greatly influenced the church. His works continue to impact all Christians and animate the movement that bears his name. Luther’s Works (55 vols.) contains many of Luther’s writings, including commentaries, sermons, and lectures.