Faithlife Corporation

Business Hours

Monday – Saturday
6 AM – 6 PM PDT
Local: 2:24 PM
Saint Ignatius Loyola—The Spiritual Writings: Selections Annotated & Explained

Saint Ignatius Loyola—The Spiritual Writings: Selections Annotated & Explained

Ignatius of Loyola

| SkyLight Paths | 2012

Buy It


Ignatius of Loyola, sixteenth-century mystic, spiritual director, and founder of the Society of Jesus, is considered to be among the greatest educators in the history of Western civilization. While the Jesuits went on to establish one of the largest educational networks in the world, Ignatius’s initial vision was simply “the help of souls.” Even today, his writings continue to inspire Christians in their quest for a meaningful holy life. The Spiritual Exercises alone—Ignatius’s most well-known work—has guided the retreat experience of over a million Christians over nearly five centuries.

This fascinating introduction to Ignatian spirituality draws from contemporary translations of original texts focusing on the practical mysticism of Ignatius of Loyola. Excerpts from The Spiritual Exercises, his autobiography, and his collected letters and instructions provide direct insights from Ignatius about the role of humility, obedience, discernment, sin and self-awareness in spiritual life. Substantive facing-page commentary illuminates Ignatius’s perspectives on many key aspects of Christian spirituality, including trusting in God, imitating Jesus and the saints, love and the common good, and much more.

Author Bio

Ignatius of Loyola (1491 – July 31, 1556) was a Spanish knight from a Basque noble family, hermit, priest since 1537, and theologian, who founded the Society of Jesus (Jesuits) and was its first Superior General. Ignatius emerged as a religious leader during the Counter-Reformation. Loyola’s devotion to the Catholic Church was characterized by unquestioning obedience to the Catholic Church’s authority and hierarchy.


This title is also included as a part of the following collection

  1. SkyLight Paths Illuminations Series (46 vols.)