Faithlife Corporation

Business Hours

Monday – Saturday
6 AM – 6 PM PST
Local: 9:04 PM
Fallacies of Evolution: A Series of Three Lectures
See inside
This image is for illustration only. The product is a download.

Fallacies of Evolution: A Series of Three Lectures


Mennonite Publishing 1917

Runs on Windows, Mac and mobile.


This short pamphlet contains three lectures given to the student body of Hesston Academy and Bible School in 1916. Its mission is to establish and confirm the student in the faith of the truth of the Bible along the line that it is most frequently attacked by scholars and ripened intellectuality, and at the same time give correct information on questions of science relative to life and its development.

Fallacies of Evolution: A Series of Three Lectures is a must-have for those interested in Reformation history. With the Logos edition, all Scripture passages in Fallacies of Evolution: A Series of Three Lectures are tagged and appear on mouse-over. What’s more, Scripture references are linked to the wealth of language resources in your Logos library, making these texts more powerful and easier to access than ever before for scholarly work or personal Bible study. With the advanced search features of Logos Bible Software, you can perform powerful searches by topic or Scripture reference—finding, for example, every mention of “degeneration” or “Matthew 5:3.”

Key Features

  • Contains three lectures from Hesston Academy and Bible School
  • Analyzes biblical scrutiny and offers apologetical counterpoints
  • Provides a biblical perspective on the origins of life and its development


  • Lecture I: The Question at Issue
    • Definitions
    • Indictment
    • Verdict of Scholarship
  • Lecture II: Studies in Science
    • The Origin of Life
      • Spontaneous Generation
      • Life Depends on Life
      • The Cell Is Complex
    • The Evolution of Species
      • Definition of Species
      • No Transmutation of Species
      • Crossing the Species
      • Variation of Species
      • The Mutation Theory and Heredity
      • Argument from Geology
      • The Missing Link
      • Pithecanthropus Erectus
      • The Colorado Specimen
      • Skulls
      • Likenesses
      • Rudiments
      • Natural Selection and Adaptations
      • Degeneration
      • Persistence
  • Lecture III: The Bible and Evolution
    • Origin of Life
    • The Origin of Man
    • Savagery—Degeneration
    • Jesus Christ

Product Details

  • Title: Fallacies of Evolution: A Series of Three Lectures
  • Author: John D. Charles
  • Publisher: Mennonite Publishing House
  • Publication Date: 1917
  • Pages: 48

About John Denlinger Charles

John Denlinger Charles (1878–1923) was educated at Franklin and Marshall College and Columbia University where he earned his MA in 1914. He served as secretary on the committee for revision of Bible Doctrine and was the author of Present Day Religions, also published by the Mennonite Publishing House.

More details about this resource