Faithlife Corporation
Old Testament Survey Series (5 vols.)
This image is for illustration only. The product is a download.

Old Testament Survey Series (5 vols.)


College Press 1992–1996

Runs on Windows, Mac and mobile.

Your Custom Discount

Reg. Price $99.99
April Monthly Sale -$30.00
Your Price $69.99
You Save $30.00 30%
Sale Price
30% OFF!
Reg.: $99.99


The Old Testament Survey Series offers a concise, clear, informative, and easy-to-read study through the Old Testament. It’s both scholarly and practical and has quickly become a valuable aid for students and teachers alike. In addition to first rate commentary, James E. Smith has included charts, maps, and outlines to help the Old Testament come alive.

With the Logos Bible Software edition, every word from every book has been indexed and catalogued to help you search the entire series for a particular verse or topic and gives you instant access to cross-references. Scripture references link directly to the original language texts and English Bible translations of your choice. For every Greek or Hebrew word, you can double-click on that word and your digital library will automatically search your lexicons for a match. This gives you access to technical linguistic data, along with the tools for accurate exegesis and interpretation. Along with this, the titles in this collection will automatically integrate into custom search reports, passage guides, exegetical guides, and the other advanced features of Logos Bible Software.

Key Features

  • Offers easy-to-read commentary on the Old Testament
  • Provides overviews of each book
  • Includes charts, maps, and outlines

Individual Titles

The Major Prophets

  • Author: James E. Smith
  • Series: Old Testament Survey Series
  • Publisher: College Press
  • Publication Date: 1992
  • Pages: 637

During the terrible days of the Babylonian captivity there was a group of men who put to writing a collection of visions, prophecies, and warnings that continue to fascinate and horrify Bible students even now. The Major Prophets operating in Jerusalem and Babylon, saw and documented terrifying visions such as Jeremiah’s Day of Disaster and the vision of Ezekiel’s Gog and Magog. They witnessed true life horror, such as the Writing on the Wall, faithful people cast into fiery furnaces, and the infamous Lion’s Den.But horror and judgment turn to joyful triumph in the Valley of Dry Bones. More importantly, they also saw visions of hope and salvation which were documented in the vision of the New Temple. Peering through the mists of time to the Messiah, their vision even pinpointed when Jesus would arrive. Without a doubt, theirs was a time of fantastic visions: the Wheel Within a Wheel; Angels and Living Things; the Harlotry of an Unfaithful People. Through all of the prophecies and their fulfillments the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob remains in control.

The Pentateuch

  • Author: James E. Smith
  • Series: Old Testament Survey Series
  • Publisher: College Press
  • Publication Date: 1993
  • Pages: 534

For those who have found the Pentateuch to be difficult and tedious, these pages will be a delight! The Pentateuch is a collection of writings that changed the course of human history unlike anything until the advent of Christianity itself. Moses compiled the Pentateuch from the very words of God. The entire Judeo-Christian system of salvation springs from this amazing record of beginnings. James Smith makes the first five books of the Bible come to life from his many years of teaching experience. The Pentateuch contains the foundational revelation of the Bible. Mastery of these books in God’s Word is an essential part of Christian education. No more adequate textbook has been written to introduce this portion of the Bible. In this newly revised edition of the Pentateuch, Smith takes up the challenge of organizing this important biblical material for classroom presentation and personal study. Pulpit ministers will find that they can easily preach directly from this volume. Forty-five charts and diagrams, fourteen maps, and fourteen bibliographies shed light upon the text and make this reference tool adaptable to any teaching situation. Trace your spiritual roots and discover for yourself how marvelous God’s eternal plan really is!

The Minor Prophets

  • Author: James E. Smith
  • Series: Old Testament Survey Series
  • Publisher: College Press
  • Publication Date: 1994
  • Pages: 653

This latest volume in the Old Testament Survey Series is the fruit of some 30 years of teaching prophetic material. The goal has been to synthesize the best research and express it in a way which would be understandable and usable by those who might be exploring the Minor Prophets for the first time.

The 12 authors of these books preached and wrote at different periods ranging from the ninth to the fifth centuries BC. The books are the earliest and latest prophetic testimonies concerning the future of the kingdom of God. Taken together with the writings of the larger prophetic books they constitute the essentials of the prophetic word to ancient Israel.

The Books of History

  • Author: James E. Smith
  • Series: Old Testament Survey Series
  • Publisher: College Press
  • Publication Date: 1995
  • Pages: 756

The focus of this volume is on the historical books of the Old Testament. Though much biblical history is contained in the Pentateuch, the bulk of the history of Israel as a nation is contained in the 12 books beginning with Joshua. These books relate the history of God’s interaction with his people from the time they entered Canaan about 1407 BC to the reforms instigated by Nehemiah about 432 BC. This survey proceeds from the general to the specific and the opening chapter gives an overview of the 12 books as a collection. The collection is then subdivided into three parts according to the period of history which each relates: the first three books (Joshua, Judges, and Ruth) are the pre-monarchy books; the three double books of Samuel, Kings, and Chronicles narrate the history of the monarchy; and the last three (Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther) cover the post-monarchy era. Each of the three parts has its own introductory chapter and 62 charts and 17 maps combine to make this volume of the Old Testament Survey Series a valuable resource.

The Wisdom Literature & Psalms

  • Author: James E. Smith
  • Series: Old Testament Survey Series
  • Publisher: College Press
  • Publication Date: 1996
  • Pages: 873

This volume covers Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, and Song of Solomon. These poetic books have certain characteristics which set them apart from the other books of the Bible. They are almost entirely written in Hebrew poetry and they aren’t historically oriented. Except for the Book of Psalms, there are few historical allusions. These books deal with issues which are relevant today and in treating these difficult topics these books exhibit boldness and honesty. Thus, one could list a courageous spirit as one of the characteristics of this literature.

Product Details

  • Title: Old Testament Survey Series
  • Author: James E. Smith
  • Series: Old Testament Survey Series
  • Publisher: College Press
  • Volumes: 5
  • Pages: 3,453

About James E. Smith

James E. Smith is chairman of the Division of Biblical Studies at Florida Christian College. He received his undergraduate and seminary training at Cincinnati Bible Seminary and earned a PhD at Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion. Smith has served congregations in Ohio and Kentucky and for 13 years he was a professor of Old Testament at Cincinnati Bible Seminary.