Logos Bible Software
Sign In
Products>The Works of John L. Dagg (4 vols.)

The Works of John L. Dagg (4 vols.)

Enhanced for Logos
Logos Editions are fully connected to your library and Bible study tools.


Collection value: $39.96
Save $12.97 (32%)


Known as the first Baptist systematic theologian in America, John L. Dagg overcame extraordinary odds—limited education, near-blindness, physical disablement—to become a professor of theology and the president of Mercer University in Georgia. His magnum opus, the two-volume Manual of Theology, was a highly influential and widely used as a textbook. The first volume is an in-depth treatise on Christian doctrine, the second, a treatise on Church Order. Dagg’s other two works, The Evidences of Christianity and The Elements of Moral Science, were also widely circulated; they enjoyed several editions. The Works of John L. Dagg includes all four of these important works.

In the Logos Bible Software edition, all Scripture passages in The Works of John L. Dagg (4 vols.) are tagged and appear on mouse-over. What’s more, Scripture references link to the wealth of language resources in your Logos library. This makes these texts more powerful and easier to access than ever before. With the advanced features of Logos Bible Software, you can perform powerful searches by topic or Scripture reference—finding, for example, every mention of “grace” or “2 Timothy 1:9.”

Resource Experts

Key Features

  • Includes Dagg’s two-volume Manual of Theology
  • Also contains Evidences of Christianity and Elements of Moral Science
  • Provides completely searchable analysis linking to your favorite Bibles and other resources

Product Details

  • Title: The Works of John L. Dagg
  • Author: John L. Dagg
  • Volumes: 4
  • Pages: 1,483

Individual Titles

Manual of Theology, vol. 1

  • Author: John L. Dagg
  • Publisher: Southern Baptist Publication Society
  • Publication Date: 1859
  • Pages: 379

Sample Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

John L. Dagg’s Manual of Theology is divided into two volumes: the first a treatise on Christian doctrine; the second, on Church Order. This first volume presents the system of Christian doctrine in the following chapters:

  • Study of Religious Truth
  • Doctrine Concerning God
  • Doctrine Concerning the Will and Works of God
  • Doctrine Concerning the Fall and Present State of Man
  • Doctrine Concerning Jesus Christ
  • Doctrines Concerning the Holy Spirit
  • Doctrine Concerning Divine Grace
  • Doctrine Concerning the Future World
The existence, perfections, and providence of God, and the great truths of human depravity, and Divine sovereignty in the election, redemption, calling, sanctification, and salvation of his people, by God—the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit—are forcibly set forth and defended against objectors. A spirit of humble submission to God’s declarations pervades the work, and, unlike most treatises on theology, it is devotional and practical, as well as doctrinal.

The Christian Review

Manual of Theology, vol. 2

  • Author: John L. Dagg
  • Publisher: Southern Baptist Publication Society
  • Publication Date: 1859
  • Pages: 312

Sample Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

John L. Dagg’s Manual of Theology is divided into two volumes: the first a treatise on Christian doctrine; the second, on ecclesiology. Volume two presents a study of Baptist Church Orders in the following chapters:

  • Obedience to Christ
  • Baptism
  • Local Churches
  • The Church Universal
  • Infant Membership
  • Communion
  • Washing of Feet
  • Public Worship
  • Ministry
  • Discipline
  • Miscellaneous Topics
  • Duty of Baptists

The Evidences of Christianity

  • Author: John L. Dagg
  • Publisher: John W. Burke & Co.
  • Publication Date: 1869
  • Pages: 418

Sample Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

This volume aims to exhibit clear and comprehensive evidence for Christianity in the order that best produces conviction. It focuses on the Bible, investigates its character, and obtains proof of its divine origin. The Evidences of Christianity covers the authenticity, inspiration, and harmony of the Bible, as well as prophecy, miracles, morality, and more.

The Elements of Moral Science

  • Author: John L. Dagg
  • Publisher: Sheldon & Company
  • Publication Date: 1860
  • Pages: 374

Sample Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

John L. Dagg’s Elements of Moral Science examines concepts of right and wrong using the Bible and the Christian tradition as its basis. After defining Moral Philosophy, Dagg explores how these ideas apply to Christians in the following chapters:

  • Moral Quality
  • Moral Obligation
  • Moral Faculty
  • Virtue
  • Knowledge of Duty
  • General Rules of Conduct
  • Duties to God
  • Duties of Benevolence
  • Duties of Veracity
  • Social Duties in General
  • Family Duties
  • Public Duties
  • Duties to Self
  • Powers of Civil Government
In many respects this volume is a valuable addition to the textbooks on Moral Philosophy. It is clear, and often forcible, in style, and simple in arrangement.

The American Theological Review

Value if sold separately
||Partially included
Value if sold separately
Total value if sold separately:

About John L. Dagg

John Leadly Dagg (1794–1884) was known as the first Baptist systematic theologian. He was born in Middleburg, Virginia, in 1794. From 1825 to 1834, he served as the minister of a prominent Philadelphia church. After losing his voice, he retired from the pulpit and began teaching at Haddington Literary and Theological Institute. He was professor and president of Mercer University, Georgia, from 1844 to 1856. After his retirement in 1856, he penned the four works that sealed his reputation as a theologian and ethicist.


4 ratings

Sign in with your Faithlife account

  1. Whyndell Grizzard
  2. Larry Proffitt

    Larry Proffitt


  3. Brock Organ

    Brock Organ


  4. Jerry Peterson


Collection value: $39.96
Save $12.97 (32%)