Produkte>The Hebrew Pentateuch of the Samaritans

The Hebrew Pentateuch of the Samaritans

Überblick

Der Samaritanische Pentateuch gilt als Schlüsseltext zur Enträtselung der komplexen Überlieferungsgeschichte des Alten Testaments. Seit seiner Wiederentdeckung 17. Jahrhundert ist seine Rolle und Bedeutung als textkritischer Zeuge von Debatten umgeben. Der Samaritanische Pentateuch mag vor allem für seine religionsgeschichtlich bedeutsamen Lesarten bekannt sein, wonach der Tempel auf dem Berg Garizim zu errichten sei. Dass er dennoch von großer textkritischer Bedeutung ist, zeigt sich an zahlreichen Übereinstimmungen mit vom Masoretischen Text abweichenden Lesarten aus Septuaginta- oder aus Qumran-Handschriften. Er bestätigt zudem auffällige abweichende Lesarten vom Masoretischen Text in der Rede des Stephanus in der Apostelgeschichte.

August von Galls Der Hebräische Pentateuch der Samaritaner ist eine kritische Edition dieses hebräischen Texttyps und damit ein wertvolles Hilfsmittel für alle, die die Unterschiede zwischen dem Masoretischen Text und anderen Texttypen erforschen wollen. Von Galls Ausgabe enthält neben einem beschreibenden Verzeichnis der herangezogenen Handschriften auch Informationen zu abweichenden Schreibweisen, den zugrundeliegenden methodischen Prinzipien, sowie eine Einführung in den Gebrauch des Texts.

Bitte beachten Sie: Auch wenn der Titel des Werkes hier auf Englisch angegeben ist, handelt es sich hier um die ursprüngliche deutsche Ausgabe.

  • Mit kritischem Apparat
  • Enthält ausgewählte Fotos des Samaritanischen Pentateuchs
  • Wirft neue Schlaglichter auf die Überlieferungsgeschichte des Pentateuchs

Prolegomena

  • Verzeichnis und Beschreibung der in dieser Ausgabe benutzten Handschriften sowie einiger anderer nicht benutzten Handschrifen
  • Verzeichnis der Ausgaben
  • Schreibweise und Einrichtung samaritanischer Handschriften
  • Grundsätze für die Bearbeitung der vorliegenden Text-Ausgabe
  • Einführung in den Gebrauch des Texts
  • Nachträge und Verbesserungen

Hebräischer Text

  • Genesis
  • Exodus
  • Leviticus
  • Numeri
  • Deuteronomium

Die Logos-Edition des Hebräischen Pentateuchs der Samaritaner ist direkt in den gewaltigen Funktionsumfang von Logos Bibelsoftware eingebunden. Wichtige Begriffe sind direkt mit Wörterbüchern und Nachschlagewerken sowie einer Vielzahl weiterer Ressourcen in Ihrer digitalen Bibliothek verknüpft. Mit umfassenden Suchoptionen finden Sie genau die Ergebnisse, die Sie suchen. Mobil-Apps machen es möglich, Ihre Arbeit von überall fortzusetzen. Logos Bibelsoftware vereint für Sie die effizientesten und umfassendsten exegetischen Werkzeuge in einem Programm, damit Sie das Beste aus Ihrem Bibelstudium herausholen können.

August Freiherr von Gall (1872-1946) war Professor an der Universität Gießen.

Sample Pages from the Print Edition

Faithlife Corporation
  1. Get 20% off Logos 7—the biggest base package discount we’ve offered in years.
The Hebrew Pentateuch of the Samaritans
This image is for illustration only. The product is a download.

The Hebrew Pentateuch of the Samaritans

by

Alfred Töpelmann 1918

Runs on Windows, Mac and mobile.
$6.00
Reg.: $49.99
* Projected price. Future bids may change this price.

Place Your Bid!

Click on the highest price you’d pay. If the final price is lower, that’s what you’ll pay.
  • Projected price

Overview

The Samaritan Pentateuch is an essential text for understanding the complex textual history of the Old Testament texts. Its existence was “rediscovered” by scholars during the 17th century and its importance as a textual witness has been vigorously debated since that time. Although the Samaritan Pentateuch is most commonly known for its sectarian readings, such as God’s command to build the temple on mount Gerizim, its value is in no way diminished, evident from its numerous agreements with the Septuagint and Dead Sea Scrolls against the Masoretic Text, as well as the agreements between Stephen’s sermon in Acts against any known Masoretic Text.

August von Gall’s Der Hebräische Pentateuch der Samaritaner is a critical edition of the Samaritan Pentateuch, making it an indispensable work for those investigating the differences between the Samaritan Pentateuch and the Masoretic Texts. Von Gall’s edition also contains a list and description of the various manuscripts used for the edition, unique spelling variations and special features of the manuscripts, methodological principles of the critical text, and introduction to the usage of the text, and supplements and improvements.

In the Logos edition, this volume is enhanced by amazing functionality. Important terms link to dictionaries, encyclopedias, and a wealth of other resources in your digital library. Perform powerful searches to find exactly what you’re looking for. Take the discussion with you using tablet and mobile apps. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive research tools are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

Please note: the foreword and prolegomena of this text are in German.

Key Features

  • Provides select photographs of the Samaritan Pentateuch
  • Contains a critical apparatus
  • Offers greater insight into the reception history of the Pentateuch

Contents

Prolegomena

  • List and Description of Manuscripts Used in This Edition and a Number of Select Other Manuscripts
  • Directory of Editions
  • Spelling and Arrangement of Samaritan Manuscripts
  • Principles Followed in the Creation of This Edition
  • How To Use This Text
  • Appendix and Improvements

The Hebrew Text

  • Genesis
  • Exodus
  • Leviticus
  • Numbers
  • Deuteronomy

Product Details

  • Title: The Hebrew Pentateuch of the Samaritans
  • Editor: August Freiherr von Gall
  • Publisher: Alfred Töpelmann
  • Publication Date: 1918
  • Pages: 562
  • Languages: German and Hebrew
  • Resource Type: Ancient Manuscripts
  • Topic: Biblical Studies - Pentateuch

About August Freiherr von Gall

August Freiherr von Gall (1872-1946) was a professor at the University of Giessen.

Sample Pages from the Print Edition