Faithlife Corporation

Business Hours

Monday – Saturday
6 AM – 6 PM PDT
Local: 5:26 AM
The Four Hundred Silent Years (From Malachi to Matthew)

The Four Hundred Silent Years (From Malachi to Matthew)

H. A. Ironside

| Loizeaux Brothers | 1914

Buy It


“History repeats itself in manifold ways,” writes Ironside in the introduction, “and he who is wise will not despise its instruction.” In The Four Hundred Silent Years, Ironside provides an easy-to-understand account of the period between the end of Malachi and the beginning of Matthew. In it, he provides not merely a chronological outline or a series of biological sketches, but traces the warnings of Ezra and Nehemiah, along with Josephus and other Jewish historians. He covers the end of the priestly rule, the days of the Maccabees, the end of the Asmonean Dynasty, and the Edomites. The final chapter is devoted to a brief commentary on the major writings of Jewish literature, including the Apocrypha.

Ironside’s intention to draw practical lessons from the intertestamental period makes this the perfect book for anyone interested in an introduction to this important historical era and the implications for the modern church.

Author Bio

H. A. Ironside (1876–1951) is one of the twentieth century’s greatest preachers. He has received honorary degrees from Wheaton College and Bob Jones University and was frequently invited to lecture at Dallas Theological Seminary.

After a serving as a Salvation Army officer for a brief period, Ironside joined the Plymouth Brethren and started what would become a highly successful itinerant ministry of preaching and teaching. He served as pastor at Moody Memorial Church from 1930 to 1948, and preached more than 7,000 sermons during his lifetime.

Harry A. Ironside produced close to 100 major books and pamphlets, mainly on expository and prophetic themes. He was a major figure in the popularizing of dispensationalism among American evangelicals and for the most part followed the views of the Scofield Reference Bible. Ironsides first-edition commentaries, most-loved sermons, addresses, lectures, and tracts are available in The Works of H. A. Ironside (65 vols.).