Logos Bible Software
Products>T&T Clark Study Guides: Micah, Nahum and Obadiah

T&T Clark Study Guides: Micah, Nahum and Obadiah

, 1991
ISBN: 9780567083289


Digital list price: $20.99
Save $5.00 (23%)


Mason here provides a valuable basic orientation to the modern reading of these short and often difficult minor prophets. By carefully surveying and evaluating the historical-critical options that have been proposed during the last century, he outlines the message of these books within a post-exilic, canonical context. Although scholars hold diverging assumptions about the authorship of Micah, Mason asserts that the book must be read as a coherent whole. Mason views the work as a post-exilic tract which re-interprets the prophet’s message in the light of the situation after the exile. For Nahum and Obadiah, whose apparent theology of hate for foreigners has limited their interpretive appeal, the argument that the books were designed to function as part the Book of the Twelve—the singular book of prophets from Amos through Jonah referred to as the “Twelve Prophets” in the Wisdom of Ben Sirach—must be taken seriously.

Save more when you purchase this volume as part of the Sheffield/T & T Clark Bible Guides Collection (44 Vols.)!

Resource Experts
  • Title: T&T Clark Study Guides: Micah, Nahum and Obadiah
  • Author: Rex Mason
  • Publisher: T&T Clark
  • Publication Date: 1991
  • Pages: 110

Rex Mason is a retired Lecturer and Tutor in Old Testament and Hebrew at the University of Oxford. His other works include Micah, Nahum, and Obadiah in this series.


0 ratings

Sign in with your Faithlife account


    Digital list price: $20.99
    Save $5.00 (23%)