Logos Bible Software
Products>Sermons on the Passion of Christ

Sermons on the Passion of Christ

  • Format:Digital


Digital list price: $9.99
Save $2.50 (25%)


Originally preached during the Easter season, these 13 sermons by Martin Luther detail the arrest, trial, suffering, crucifixion, and resurrection of Jesus. Working through selected passages in the Synoptic Gospels, Luther constructs a vivid passion narrative with his characteristic verve, precision, and spiritual intensity.

  • Introductory Meditations
  • First Passion-Sermon: The Occurrences at the Mount of Olives
  • Second Passion-Sermon: The Seizure of Christ in the Garden
  • Third Passion-Sermon: Christ Refusing to Be Rescued by Peter’s Sword
  • Fourth Passion-Sermon: The Lord Jesus led to Annas and Caiaphas and Tried by the Jews
  • Fifth Passion-Sermon: Peter Thrice Denies the Lord Jesus in the House of Caiaphas
  • Sixth Passion-Sermon: Christ Is Delivered to Pilate. Judas Hangs Himself. The Potter’s Field.
  • Seventh Passion-Sermon: Christ Accused before Pilate and Condemned to Death
  • Eighth Passion-Sermon: Explanation of Several Points in the History Just Given
  • Ninth Passion-Sermon: Christ Led Away to Be Crucified. Simon Bears the Cross After Him. The Women Who Follow Bewail and Lament Him.
  • Tenth Passion-Sermon: Christ Nailed to the Cross. His Deeds, Sufferings, and Words on the Cross.
  • Eleventh Passion-Sermon: Christ’s Prayer on the Cross. The Malefactor on the Right.
  • Twelfth Passion-Sermon: Christ Commits His Mother to the Care of John. The Soldiers Do Not Break the Legs of Christ, but with a Spear Pierce His Side, from Which Blood and Water Flow.
  • Thirteenth Passion-Sermon: Christ’s Body Taken down from the Cross and Laid in a Tomb. The Soldiers Guard the Tomb.
  • Title: Sermons on the Passion of Christ
  • Author: Martin Luther
  • Publisher: Lutheran Augustana Book Concern
  • Print Publication Date: 1871
  • Logos Release Date: 2015
  • Pages: 224
  • Language: English
  • Resources: 1
  • Format: Digital › Logos Research Edition
  • Subjects: Jesus Christ › Passion--Sermons; Lutheran Church › Sermons; Sermons, German › Translations into English
  • Resource Type: text.monograph.sermons
  • Metadata Last Updated: 2020-03-20T21:39:55Z

In the Logos edition, this volume is enhanced by amazing functionality. Important terms link to dictionaries, encyclopedias, and a wealth of other resources in your digital library. Perform powerful searches to find exactly what you’re looking for. Take the discussion with you using tablet and mobile apps. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive research tools are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

Martin Luther

Martin Luther (1483–1546), one of the most significant figures in Western history, was a key figure in the Protestant Reformation. Over the course of his life, Luther was a monk, a priest, a professor of biblical literature, a Reformer, a husband, and a father.

Luther is most noted for his Ninety-Five Theses (1517), in which he argued that indulgences were not acts of penance which could replace true repentance. His refusal to retract all his writings, demanded by Pope Leo X in 1520 and the Holy Roman Emperor Charles V at the Diet of Worms in 1521, resulted in his excommunication by the pope and condemnation as an outlaw by the emperor.

Luther has been both praised and vilified for what he preached and wrote. Luther’s translation of the Christian Bible into the vernacular greatly influenced the church. His works continue to impact all Christians and animate the movement that bears his name. Luther’s Works (55 vols.) contains many of Luther’s writings, including commentaries, sermons, and lectures.


Digital list price: $9.99
Save $2.50 (25%)