Faithlife Corporation

Business Hours

Monday – Saturday
6 AM – 6 PM PST
Local: 3:43 PM
A Life Observed: A Spiritual Biography of C.S. Lewis
See inside
This image is for illustration only. The product is a download.

A Life Observed: A Spiritual Biography of C.S. Lewis

by ,

Brazos Press 2013

Runs on Windows, Mac and mobile.


C.S. Lewis is one of the most influential Christian writers of the twentieth century. The Chronicles of Narnia has sold more than 100 million copies worldwide and all Lewis’ works are estimated to sell 6 million copies annually. At the fiftieth anniversary of the beloved author’s death, Lewis expert Devin Brown brings Lewis’ story to life in a fresh, accessible, and moving biography focused on Lewis’ spiritual journey.

Although it was clear from the start that Lewis would be a writer, it was not always clear he would become a Christian. Drawing on Lewis’ autobiographical works, books by those who knew him personally, and his apologetic and fictional writing, Brown tells the inspiring story of Lewis’s journey from cynical atheist to joyous Christian—and challenges readers to follow their own calling.

Brown’s moving biography pairs perfectly with The C.S. Lewis Collection—Logos’ definitive bundle of Lewis’ works. Every time Brown mentions one of Lewis’ works, it’s tagged with resources already in your library. Find a reference to The Great Divorce, click, and read Lewis’ work alongside Brown’s explanation of its origin.

Because we’ve tagged all Lewis’ letters included in The C.S. Lewis Collection, when Brown references a personal correspondence, you can click straight to the source! Perform powerful searches to find exactly what you’re looking for. You can even use Logos’ Visual Copy tool to highlight a favorite quote and import it into a professionally-designed slide template for your next presentation or to share on social media. Take the discussion with you using tablet and mobile apps. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive research tools are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

Fill out your Logos library with essential works by Lewis in The C.S. Lewis Collection.

Key Features

  • Focuses on Lewis’ spiritual journey
  • Uses books by Lewis and those who knew him well to paint an intimate portrait of the beloved author
  • Integrates seamlessly with your Logos library, letting you read Lewis’ works alongside Brown’s biography


  • Prologue: A Longing Nothing Can Satisfy
  • Infant and Child (1898–1908)
  • Schoolboy and Adolescent (1908–1913)
  • Young Man and University Student (1913–1925)
  • Oxford Don and Reluctant Convert (1925–1931)
  • Inkling and Author (1931–1950)
  • Husband, Widower, and Brother Once More (1950–1963)
  • Epilogue: Home at Last

Praise for the Print Edition

This book has the essential quality of a biography—it’s reliable.

Walter Hooper, C.S. Lewis’ personal secretary and editor

Like Lewis, Devin is a pleasure to read, and you can't help but feel a little smarter—and a little happier—when you finish this book.

Micheal Flaherty, cofounder and president, Walden Media

I grew up with Jack as my guide. This real Jack whom I knew walks the pages of this book.

Douglas Greshem, Lewis’ stepson and author of Jack’s Life: The Life Story of C.S. Lewis

Product Details

About Devin Brown

Devin Brown is a Lilly scholar and professor of English at Asbury University. A C.S. Lewis aficionado, Brown has written, taught, and lectured on Lewis extensively for more than ten years. He has authored a number of books related to Lewis, including Inside Narnia and Inside Prince Caspian, and lives in Kentucky. In 2008 Brown was invited to serve as scholar-in-residence at the Kilns, Lewis’ home in Oxford.

Sample Pages from the Print Edition

More details about this resource