Logos Bible Software
Products>Strange New World: How Thinkers and Activists Redefined Identity and Sparked the Sexual Revolution

Strange New World: How Thinkers and Activists Redefined Identity and Sparked the Sexual Revolution

Publisher:
, 2022
ISBN: 9781433579301

$14.99

Digital list price: $17.99
Save $3.00 (16%)

Overview

How did the world arrive at its current, disorienting state of identity politics, and how should the church respond? Historian Carl R. Trueman shows how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of “expressive individualism.” Investigating philosophies from the Romantics, Nietzsche, Marx, Wilde, Freud, and the New Left, he outlines the history of Western thought to the distinctly sexual direction of present-day identity politics, providing readers with a clearer understanding of the modern implications of these ideas on religion, free speech, and issues related to personal identity. For fans of Trueman’s The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self, this new book offers a more concise presentation and application of some of the most critical topics of our day.

This is a Logos Reader Edition. Learn more.

  • Presents a concise version of The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self
  • Explores how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of “expressive individualism.”
  • Outlines the history of Western thought to the distinctly sexual direction of present-day identity politics
  • Preface
  • A Roadmap for This Strange New World
  • Romantic Roots
  • Prometheus Unbound
  • Sexualizing Psychology, Politicizing Sex
  • The Revolt of the Masses
  • Plastic People, Liquid World
  • The Sexual Revolution of the LGBTQ+
  • Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  • Strangers in This Strange New World
  • Title: Strange New World: How Thinkers and Activists Redefined Identity and Sparked the Sexual Revolution
  • Author: Carl R. Trueman
  • Publisher: Crossway
  • Print Publication Date: 2022
  • Logos Release Date: 2022
  • Pages: 204
  • Era: era:contemporary
  • Language: English
  • Resources: 1
  • Format: Digital › Logos Reader Edition
  • Subjects: Group identity › Political aspects--History; Identity politics › History; Sexual freedom › History
  • ISBNs: 9781433579301, 9781433579332, 9781433579318, 9781433579325
  • Resource ID: LLS:STRNGNWSXLRVLTN
  • Resource Type: Monograph
  • Metadata Last Updated: 2022-03-22T22:18:35Z

In the Logos Reader Edition, this volume is enhanced to best fit the content. Scripture references are hand-tagged to integrate with powerful functionality in Logos Bible Software. Page milestones and internal citation tagging provide accurate points of reference. Search important words across resources to find exactly what you’re looking for. Take the discussion with you using tablet and mobile apps. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive tools for reading digital content are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

Carl R. Trueman is pastor of Cornerstone Presbyterian Church in Ambler, Pennsylvania. He has received degrees from St. Catharine’s College in Cambridge and the University of Aberdeen. Trueman is also professor of historical theology and church history and Paul Wooley Chair of Church History at Westminster Theological Seminary. He has authored several books and was editor of Themelios from 1998–2007.

Reviews

0 ratings

Sign in with your Faithlife account

  1. Chad Katter

    Chad Katter

    6/20/2021

    There is no St. Catherine's College in Cambridge, MA. Perhaps Cambridge, England?
    Reply

$14.99

Digital list price: $17.99
Save $3.00 (16%)