Logos Bible Software
Sign In
Products>Strange New World: How Thinkers and Activists Redefined Identity and Sparked the Sexual Revolution

Strange New World: How Thinkers and Activists Redefined Identity and Sparked the Sexual Revolution

Publisher:
, 2022
ISBN: 9781433579301

Digital Logos Edition

Logos Editions are fully connected to your library and Bible study tools.
Save during the Summer Reading Sale!

$10.49

Digital list price: $17.99
Regular price: $14.99
Save $4.50 (30%)

Overview

How did the world arrive at its current, disorienting state of identity politics, and how should the church respond? Historian Carl R. Trueman shows how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of “expressive individualism.” Investigating philosophies from the Romantics, Nietzsche, Marx, Wilde, Freud, and the New Left, he outlines the history of Western thought to the distinctly sexual direction of present-day identity politics, providing readers with a clearer understanding of the modern implications of these ideas on religion, free speech, and issues related to personal identity. For fans of Trueman’s The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self, this new book offers a more concise presentation and application of some of the most critical topics of our day.

This is a Logos Reader Edition. Learn more.

  • Presents a concise version of The Rise and Triumph of the Modern Self
  • Explores how influences ranging from traditional institutions to technology and pornography moved modern culture toward an era of “expressive individualism.”
  • Outlines the history of Western thought to the distinctly sexual direction of present-day identity politics
  • Preface
  • A Roadmap for This Strange New World
  • Romantic Roots
  • Prometheus Unbound
  • Sexualizing Psychology, Politicizing Sex
  • The Revolt of the Masses
  • Plastic People, Liquid World
  • The Sexual Revolution of the LGBTQ+
  • Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  • Strangers in This Strange New World

Top Highlights

“At the risk of oversimplifying what Trueman accomplishes, I would summarize the broad arc of his work as an account of how the person became a self, the self became sexualized, and sex became politicized.” (Page 12)

“Again, notice what the sexual revolution has done: it has brought us to the point where sexual acts in themselves are seen as having no intrinsic moral significance; it is the consent (or not) of those engaging in them that provides the moral framework.” (Page 25)

“We should also note one other implication of this: If the original, pristine individual is the truly authentic me, then not just institutions but every other person stands in a naturally adversarial relationship to me. Everyone else is first and foremost a potential threat to my authenticity.” (Page 41)

“‘I think; therefore, I am.’ What is of interest to my narrative is the way this places human thought—a psychological phenomenon—at the very center of the project.” (Page 33)

“I want to focus on one particular element in this story: the granting of decisive authority to inner feelings” (Page 32)

Carl R. Trueman is pastor of Cornerstone Presbyterian Church in Ambler, Pennsylvania. He has received degrees from St. Catharine’s College in Cambridge and the University of Aberdeen. Trueman is also professor of historical theology and church history and Paul Wooley Chair of Church History at Westminster Theological Seminary. He has authored several books and was editor of Themelios from 1998–2007.

Reviews

1 rating

Sign in with your Faithlife account

  1. Kenneth M. Pruett
    In my humble opinion, this is a political topic, and political topics do not belong on Logos. Or, if Logos is going to offer them, it should give equal time to works that document the harm that the quest for political power has historically done and is arguably now doing to the church, and that urge the church to stay out of such quests, or that argue for other, humbler approaches to activism, than trying to force people outside the church to conduct their private lives the way we want them to (as if we all agreed on precisely how they should conduct those lives, anyway). There's a whole array of opinion represented in current Christian literature that's out there; I'm not going to review it here, or offer up titles that represent these varying Christian views. What I *am* going to say is that Logos' stepping into the political fray is in my humble opinion a divisive mistake; and just like the larger current phenomenon of Christian political power-seeking, it will not end well. I'm not going to get into an argument about this; I've said what I've had to say; so please, don't anyone even try to engage me in some futile protracted debate. The Lord Jesus bless you all.
  2. Chris Reighley

    Chris Reighley

    10/18/2022

    Read this as part of the Colson Fellows program. An excellent book that traces the changes in culture in regard to sex, individualism, and the current cancel culture. Provides a great understanding of how we got here and what as Christians we can do about it. A very worthwhile read.
  3. Chad Katter

    Chad Katter

    6/20/2021

    There is no St. Catherine's College in Cambridge, MA. Perhaps Cambridge, England?
Save during the Summer Reading Sale!

$10.49

Digital list price: $17.99
Regular price: $14.99
Save $4.50 (30%)