Logos Bible Software
Products>Sheffield Old Testament Guides: Zephaniah, Habakkuk and Joel

Sheffield Old Testament Guides: Zephaniah, Habakkuk and Joel


Digital list price: $12.99
Save $3.00 (23%)


The author begins this guide with an introduction and explains that he presents these three prophetic books in what he believes to be their chronological sequence rather than canonical order. Part One examines the book of Zephaniah by describing the contents, portraying Zephaniah the person, explaining the historical background and criticisms, and illustrating the message of Zephaniah. Part Two is devoted to the book of Habakkuk, listing the contents, explaining the history of criticism of the book, illuminating the details of the prophet and his times, and analyzing the theology and function of the book. Part Three is a treatment of the book of Joel. Mason here presents the contents of the book of Joel, then discusses the various possible meanings of the plague of locusts which is such a prominent feature of Joel. He then looks at the questions of the unity and the dating of the book, and its parallels with other Old Testament materials.

Save more when you purchase this volume as part of the Sheffield/T & T Clark Bible Guides Collection (44 Vols.)!

Resource Experts
  • Title: Sheffield Old Testament Guides: Zephaniah, Habakkuk and Joel
  • Author: Rex Mason
  • Publisher: Sheffield Academic Press
  • Publication Date: 1994
  • Pages: 129

Rex Mason is a retired Lecturer and Tutor in Old Testament and Hebrew at the University of Oxford. His other works include Micah, Nahum, and Obadiah in this series.


0 ratings

Sign in with your Faithlife account


    Digital list price: $12.99
    Save $3.00 (23%)