Products>The Works of the Rev. Isaac Watts, D. D. in Nine Volumes, vol. 2

The Works of the Rev. Isaac Watts, D. D. in Nine Volumes, vol. 2


This volume contains 12 sermons by Isaac Watts, along with his evangelical discourses. Known as the “Father of English Hymnody,” Isaac Watts is one of England’s most influential hymnists. Credited with over 500 hymns—including “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross” and “Joy to the World”—he left behind a massive legacy. He paved the way to the inclusion of “original songs of Christian experience” in worship. His introduction of extrabiblical poetry opened doors to new forms of worship in the Protestant Church.

With Logos Bible Software, this valuable volume is enhanced by cutting-edge research tools. Scripture citations link directly to English translations, and important terms link to dictionaries, encyclopedias, and a wealth of other resources in your digital library. Powerful searches help you find exactly what you’re looking for. Tablet and mobile apps let you take the discussion with you. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive research tools are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

Key Features

  • Contains 12 sermons by Isaac Watts
  • Provides evangelical discourses
  • Covers a variety of biblical topics for practical application


  • Sermon 44: The Doctrine of the Trinity and the Use of It (Eph. 2:18)
  • Sermon 45: The Knowledge of God by the Light of Nature, together with the Uses of It, and Its Defects (Acts 14:15, 16, 17)
  • Sermon 46: God’s Election of a People for Himself among Men, and Giving Them to His Son in the Covenant of Redemption (Eph. 1:3, 4, 5)
  • Sermon 47: The Excellency and Advantages of the Christian Dispensation, with the Invitations and Promises of the Gospel (Heb. 8:6)
  • Sermon 48: The Exaltation of Christ to His Kingdom, and His Sending down the Holy Spirit (Acts 2:33)
  • Sermon 49: The Perpetual Obligation of the Moral Law; The Evil of Sin, and Its Desert of Punishment (1 John 3:4, Rom. 6:23)
  • Sermon 50: The Lord’s-Day, or Christian Sabbath (Gen. 2:3)
  • Sermon 51: Christian Baptism (Mat. 28:19)
  • Sermon 52: Christian Diligence, with the Blessings that Attend It, in Opposition to Sloth, Security, Backsliding (Prov. 13:4)
  • Sermon 53: Christian Fellowship, with Its Duties and Advantages (Rom. 15:6, 7)
  • Sermon 54: To Encourage the Reformation of Manners (Ex. 17:11)
  • Preface to Sermon 55
  • Sermon 50: On the Death of George I. (Is. 5:12)
  • Evangelical Discourses on Several Subjects
  • Death and Heaven or the Last Enemy Conquered, and Separate Spirits Made Perfect
  • The Doctrine of the Passions
  • Of the Love of God and the Use and Abuse of the Passions

Product Details

  • Title: The Works of the Rev. Isaac Watts, D. D. in Nine Volumes, vol. 2
  • Author: Isaac Watts
  • Publisher: William Baynes
  • Publication Date: 1812
  • Pages: 614

About Isaac Watts

Isaac Watts (1674–1748), was an English hymn-writer, theologian, and logician. He is recognized as the “Father of English Hymnody” and is credited with some 750 hymns. Many of his hymns remain in active use today.

As a young boy, Watts began to write poems and hymns to please his mother. He received an excellent education as a child and studied at the nonconformist academy at Stoke Newington as a youth. After he completed his education, Watts began to write hymns and also tutored the family of Sir John Hartopp. At age 26, Watts became a pastor, but his poor health kept him from his duties. In 1712, Isaac Watts went to live with the Abney family in Stoke Newington for a short time, and ended up staying there permanently. During his stay, he would occasionally preach, but mostly devoted his time to writing hymns, sermons for publications, essays, discourses, and poems. He died peacefully at the age of 74.