Logos Bible Software
Products>The Five Smooth Stones: Essential Principles for Biblical Ministry

The Five Smooth Stones: Essential Principles for Biblical Ministry

, 2007
ISBN: 9780805445183


Digital list price: $12.99
Save $3.00 (23%)


University president Robertson McQuilkin, bemused by the constant rising and falling of new methodologies when he began a career in ministry over 50 years ago, has committed since then to a core group of enduring ministry principles that he calls “the five smooth stones.” These principles are:

  • The Bible
    Making it the functional authority
  • The Congregation
    Aligning it with the biblical purposes
  • The Spirit
    Releasing his energizing power
  • The Plan of Redemption
    The mission of every disciple
  • The Lord Jesus
    Model of servant leadership

While that outline may seem very obvious, one must ask why so many churches and other ministries fail somewhere along the way. Could it be a simple lack of commitment to relentlessly measure every effort by these key standards?

McQuilkin has witnessed the success of his method through five decades of dynamic service, from church planting to foreign missions to the academic arena. The Five Smooth Stones is his invitation to join in the deep reflection, honest evaluation, and courageous integration of each principle in order to bless every aspect of your ministry.

With the Logos edition of The Five Smooth Stones, you get easy access to Scripture and to a wealth of other resources in your digital library. Hovering over Scripture references links you instantly to the verse you’re looking for, and with Logos’ advanced features, you can delve into your study like never before!

Resource Experts
  • Examines five essential principles for ministry
  • Provides introductory Scripture references for each chapter
  • Offers questions for reflection
  • Unit 1: The Bible—Making It the Functional Authority
    • Making the Bible the Functional Authority
    • Postmodernism
    • Therapeutic Theology
  • Unit 2: The Church—Aligning the Congregation with All of God’s Biblical Purposes
    • Worship
    • Make Disciples
    • Member Care
    • Pursue Welfare of the Community
  • Unit 3: The Holy Spirit—Releasing His Energizing Power
    • Defining Gifts
    • What the Gifts are Not
    • Discovering, Developing, Deploying, Desiring
    • Prayer Connection
  • Unit 4: The Plan of Redemption—The Mission of Every Disciple
    • Biblical Foundations of Mission
    • Two Locations, Two Vocations
    • New Paradigms of Mission
    • Prayer Support
    • Financial Support
  • The Lordship of Christ—Gauging Servant Leadership
    • Leadership
    • Leadership: Positive Role Model
    • Unity of the Congregation
    • Purity of the Congregation
  • Title: The Five Smooth Stones: Essential Principles for Biblical Ministry
  • Author: Robertson McQuilkin
  • Publisher: B&H
  • Publication Date: 2007
  • Pages: 240

Robertson McQuilkin served as the third president of Columbia International University from 1968 to 1990 distinguishing himself as a spiritual and practical visionary. Under his leadership, CIU made advancements in accreditation standing and faculty development, growth in the graduate and seminary programs, the initiation of radio ministry and the expansion of campus facilities. He resigned from the presidency to care for his wife, Muriel, who had reached the stage of Alzheimer’s disease in which she needed full-time care. Prior to becoming president of CIU, McQuilkin served as headmaster of Ben Lippen School, then for 12 years as a missionary in Japan. Today McQuilkin is a speaker and writer, engaging in an extensive conference ministry across America and overseas. He also serves as president emeritus of CIU. In 2005 McQuilkin married Deborah Jones Sink, a professor at the University of South Carolina School of Nursing. Deborah also has a teaching ministry in conferences and women’s groups. Between them, Robertson and Deborah have nine children: four in Christian ministry, five in business.


5 ratings

Sign in with your Faithlife account

  1. Russell Duley

    Russell Duley


  2. David Leslie Bond
  3. Bill Shewmaker
  4. Phil Niebergall
  5. Tin





Digital list price: $12.99
Save $3.00 (23%)