Business Hours

Monday – Saturday
6 AM – 6 PM PDT
Local: 3:15 PM

Sign in

  1. Forgot your password?

Introduction to Layouts

Overview of the Layouts Menu and New Features

Article Details

Platform / Device

Windows Mac OS X

Operating System

Vista (or higher) OS X 10.6.8 (or higher)

Version

Logos 5.0+

Recommendations

Related Tutorials

1:19 Interface Overview 1:04 Topic Guide 1:10 Bible Facts
 

Related Articles

Using the Library Reading Plans About Indexing
Using the Layouts menu
Active & Default Layout
NEW: Example Study Layout
Read the Article
Read the Article
Video Only

What is a Layout?

In Logos, all of your open resources, tools, guides, search panels and their locations or arrangement are considered a "Layout" (peviously "workspace" in Logos 3). You can return to previous layouts with the "Layouts" menu. It is also possible to re-arrange your current panels from this menu and manage previous layouts you may have saved.

Using the Layouts menu

Step 1: Arranging the current Layout

From the Layouts menu, you can automatically arrange your currently open panels according to several layout templates. Just open the resources, guides or search panels you want to arrange, then select the desired arrangement icon from the menu.

Logos will attempt to group similar resources automatically, but you can always drag a tab from one panel to another if desired. You can also drag a tab to the top, bottom, left or right edge of a panel to "split" the space into two panels.

Step 2: Saving a Layout

As you perform key actions, like starting a search or opening a resource, Logos will automatically record your layout as a "Snapshot". These snapshots are time-stamped and logged in the Layouts menu, but this is not ideal if you wish to return to this layout later. Let's save one.

    To save a layout, give it a name.
  • Click on the Layouts menu.
  • Hover over the desired snapshot and click "Save As".
    Notice the current layout or snapshot will always appear at the top of the list with a "Save as named layout" or "Update active" option.
  • Enter a name for your layout that you can identify later.

While automatic snapshots eventually expire, Saved layouts will move to the left-side of the menu and never expire.

Step 3: Closing a Layout (Optional)

There are several ways to close the current Layout. (Note: this is different from the "Active" layout which we'll discuss later.)

  • If you're done using Logos, there is no need to close the layout. Simply exit the application. Logos will open to your default layout setting when you come back (also discussed later).
  • If you're done with your current study and want to start a fresh study, you can return to the Home Page and enter a new passage, or close all of the open panels using the "Close All" command.
      Close All:
    • Click in the "Comamnd" field at the top of the application window.
    • Type: Close All
    • Press Enter to execute the command.
  • Finally, if you have a previously saved layout you wish to return to, you can select it from the Layouts menu. This will close the current layout and open the saved layout in one step.
Step 4: Updating a Layout (Optional)

Sometimes you may want to update a layout so that it opens to a different passage, or maybe includes different panels. This is done from the saved alyouts list.

  • (Optional) Open the layout you wish to update as a starting point.
  • Open and arrange whatever panels you wish to update to.
  • Once you're satisfied with the arrangement, click the Layouts menu.
  • Click the Layout Options button.
  • Choose "Update to current snapshot".

back to the video...

NEW: Active Layout VS Inactive Layouts

The "Active Layout" concept is new to Logos 5.0b+. Your "Active Layout" is displayed at the top of the program, and "Checked" in the Layouts menu. Having an active layout makes it quick and easy to update a layout as you work.

Example 1: Using the Active Layout
  • Open your favorite Bible and Commentary.
  • Click on the Layouts menu.
  • Save the current snapshot as "Bible and Commentary".
  • Click on "Bible and Commentary" in the left-side list to make it active.

Now that your layout is active, you can modify and update it very quickly. For example, maybe you decide you prefer a different commentary:

Example 2: Updating the Active Layout
  • Close your commentary.
  • Open another commentary.
  • Click on the Layouts menu again and choose "Update active" or press CTRL+ALT+L (Mac: CTRL+Option+Command+L) on the keyboard.

Your active layout will now load the new commentary whenever you load it.

Example 3: Closing the Active Layout
  • Open the Layouts menu and choose "Close Active Layout" or press CTRL+ALT+X (Mac: CTRL+Option+Command+X) on the keyboard.

This will close the current layout's "active status", but does not close the actual panels on the screen.

It is possible to close the active status and all open panels at the same time by using the "Close All" command in the Command box.

NEW: Default Layout

Logos 5.0b+ introduced another new feature: default layout. Previous versions of Logos had the ability to Open to the Home Page or to the last location. Now, any layout can be used at startup:

Setting the Default Layout
  • Click on Tools > Program Settings
  • Under "General", set "At Startup Open to" from the drop menu.


Any previously saved layouts will be available in the list, as well as several default options:

  • Home : loads the Home Page.
  • Blank : loads a blank or "empty" layout.
  • Most recent layout - local : loads your most recently used layout on this computer.
  • Most recent layout - any : loads your most recently used layout on any computer.

back to the videos...

Last Updated: 12/13/2013