Faithlife Corporation

Business Hours

Monday – Saturday
6 AM – 6 PM PST
Local: 3:54 PM
The Works of the Rev. Isaac Watts, D. D. in Nine Volumes, vol. 8
See inside
This image is for illustration only. The product is a download.

The Works of the Rev. Isaac Watts, D. D. in Nine Volumes, vol. 8


5 publishers 1813

Runs on Windows, Mac and mobile.


This volume contains essays and discourses by Isaac Watts. Known as the “Father of English Hymnody,” Isaac Watts is one of England’s most influential hymnists. Credited with over 500 hymns—including “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross” and “Joy to the World”—he left behind a massive legacy. He paved the way to the inclusion of “original songs of Christian experience” in worship. His introduction of extrabiblical poetry opened doors to new forms of worship in the Protestant Church.

With Logos Bible Software, this valuable volume is enhanced by cutting-edge research tools. Scripture citations link directly to English translations, and important terms link to dictionaries, encyclopedias, and a wealth of other resources in your digital library. Powerful searches help you find exactly what you’re looking for. Tablet and mobile apps let you take the discussion with you. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive research tools are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

Key Features

  • Contains essays and discourses by Isaac Watts
  • Offers tools to improve memory, attention, observation, and much more
  • Discusses philosophy and ontology


  • The Improvement of the Mind; Containing a Variety of Remarks and Rules for the Attainment and Communication of Useful Knowledge, in Religion, in the Sciences and in Common Life
  • The First Principles of Geography and Astronomy
  • Philosophical Essays
  • A Brief Scheme of Ontology or the Science of Being in General; Wherein All the Various Affections or Properties, Adjuncts and Relations of It, Are Contracted into a Comprehensive View, and Ranged in a Natural and Easy Method
  • A Defence against the Temptation to Self-Murder

Product Details

  • Title: The Works of the Rev. Isaac Watts, D. D. in Nine Volumes, vol. 8
  • Author: Isaac Watts
  • Publisher: William Baynes
  • Publication Date: 1813
  • Pages: 578

About Isaac Watts

Isaac Watts (1674–1748), was an English hymn-writer, theologian, and logician. He is recognized as the “Father of English Hymnody” and is credited with some 750 hymns. Many of his hymns remain in active use today.

As a young boy, Watts began to write poems and hymns to please his mother. He received an excellent education as a child and studied at the nonconformist academy at Stoke Newington as a youth. After he completed his education, Watts began to write hymns and also tutored the family of Sir John Hartopp. At age 26, Watts became a pastor, but his poor health kept him from his duties. In 1712, Isaac Watts went to live with the Abney family in Stoke Newington for a short time, and ended up staying there permanently. During his stay, he would occasionally preach, but mostly devoted his time to writing hymns, sermons for publications, essays, discourses, and poems. He died peacefully at the age of 74.

More details about this resource