Products>The New Creation: Church History Made Accessible, Relevant, and Personal

The New Creation: Church History Made Accessible, Relevant, and Personal


Digital list price: $19.99
Save $7.00 (35%)

Gathering interest


Christianity is essentially a historical religion. It cannot be understood merely through a set of dogmas, a moral code, or a view of the universe. Through the stories of Israel, Jesus, and the developing church, Christianity acknowledges the revelation of God in action.

Augustine, the great medieval theologian, envisioned human society as composed of two “cities,” distinguished by two loves: the love of God and the love of Self. He viewed these cities as universal in scope and operative throughout human history. This perspective raises questions about the church’s nature, its role in society, and whether the church has lived up to its nature and destiny as God’s new creation.

Ideal for individual or group study, The New Creation divides church history into nine units, each discussed as a phase in the church’s organic growth and development. In addition to the narrative, each chapter includes three features for that epoch of church history: 1) a significant event, 2) a turning point or decisive moment, and 3) study questions.

Key Features

  • Defines the church as “the people of God,” related but not equivalent to Israel or the institutional church
  • Provides a clear and concise survey of the church as God’s instrument for the providential care of the earth and its human family
  • Illustrates the story of the church begins with Abraham in the second millennium BCE, long before Jesus or the birth of Christianity


  • Part 1. Formation (c. 1850–4 BCE)
    • Phase 1: Beginnings: Myths, Sagas, and Epics (1850–1200 BCE)
    • Phase 2: Israel: Prophets, Priests, and Kings (1200–4 BCe)
  • Part 2. Transformation (4 BCE–1500 CE)
    • Phase 3: The New Israel: Disciples, Apostles, and Converts (4 BCE–100 CE)
    • Phase 4: Catholic Christianity: Mystics, Bishops, and Intellectuals (100–325)
    • Phase 5: Christendom I: Councils, Monarchs, and Popes (325–476)
    • Phase 6: Christendom II: Latins, Byzantines, and Barbarians (476–1095)
    • Phase 7: Renaissance: Crusades, Colleges, and Cathedrals (1095–1500)
  • Part 3. Reformation (1500–Present)
    • Phase 8: Reformation: Catholics, Protestants, and Radicals (1500–1700)
    • Phase 9: Enlightenment: Liberalism, Fundamentalism, and ecumenism (1700–Present)
  • Epilogue: Awakening: The Global South, Pentecostalism, and the Emerging Church

Product Details

In the Logos edition, this volume is enhanced by a world-class set of research and study tools. Important terms link to dictionaries, encyclopedias, and a wealth of other resources in your digital library. Perform powerful searches to find exactly what you’re looking for. Take the discussion with you using tablet and mobile apps. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive research tools are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

Robert P. Vande Kappelle is college chaplain and professor of religious studies at Washington & Jefferson College in Washington, Pennsylvania. He is the author of numerous books, including his Adventures in Spirituality trilogy: Love Never Fails (2006), The Invisible Mountain (2010), and Into Thin Places (2011). His most recent titles are Beyond Belief (2012), a theological gestalt, and Iron Sharpens Iron (2013) as well as its discussion guide (2013). He is an ordained minister in the Presbyterian Church (USA).

Sample Pages from the Print Edition


Digital list price: $19.99
Save $7.00 (35%)

Gathering interest